Comics, Eczema, and Breaking Bread

So just how do comics, eczema, and bread make for a good story? Keep reading to find out. I promise by the end your taste buds will thank you.

Up First –> Comics

In the United States, through comic books and their development into television and film, superheros are firmly ingrained into the pop culture psyche. If your into the comics, then you certainly have a favorite character. Maybe its their power/ability or their personality that draws you in. For me, I always appreciate their humanity and struggles. It’s what makes them relatable and understandable.

The best way to understand the character is to go back to the beginning. Every super hero has an origin story, the backstory to how they got their powers and where their motivation to use them for good comes from. We really become connected when we see ourselves reflected in the characters. This is why for Native Americans it can be challenging connect, the comics just don’t show our stories. This isn’t to say that the major comic publishers don’t have Native American superheros, they do but the depictions can leave a lot to be desired.

I am certainly not the first to notice this, see writer Vincent Shilling articles on Marvel Native Superheros and Native Superheros and Native Actors. Others have ventured into writing, illustrating, and publishing comics. Lee Francis IV has done all three and even opened a comic book store featuring only Native American comics. In researching this post I also came across Arigon Starr, a creator/writer/artist, and her website SuperIndianComics. For a parent with kids who love to draw, the comic coloring pages on the website are great.

Eczema

In 2013 my daughter was born and so began my superhero origin story. Picture me: a budding educator, fledgling husband, and a very amateur cook. In short, I was not prepared for what my daughter would bring. Yeah sure, my wife and I already had two boys but the girl was different. Here’s how: at around one, just when I thought I had things generally figured out a curve ball gets thrown. At first it was small, so I didn’t put much thought to it. A saying now comes to mind, one I heard on a visit to the pediatrician: “If it gets small and goes away, then don’t worry. If it stays the same or gets worse, see a doctor.”

It showed on her arm, just a blotch at first. It turned out to be eczema, and it would go on to cover all parts of her body. After all these years I understand that her case could have been way worse, and I am extremely thankful to my wife for her persistence and endless search for helping our daughter. After years my wife happened upon the Aron Regimen, named after Dr. Richard Aron, and because we’d tried all manner of remedies and treatments we decided to try it. We noticed results within 2-3 weeks, and continual use provided continual improvement. I’m happy to say she is now 6 years old and has been off the regimen for two years.

One thing that came out of our visits to the pediatrician and dermatologist was that we should also visit an allergist. After being tested the results showed allergies to dairy, eggs, and tree nuts, and after discussion we also decided to forego gluten to see if that would help. The day we received these results is lost in memory, but I do remember the feelings. The feelings washed over me not at the doctor’s office, but rather when I walked into the grocery store. There was a haze as I walked down the aisles and wondered where to go first. I don’t remember what product I looked at first, but I do remember going to the ingredients list and feeling lost. It was something I’d never done before, and now it seemed that everything we ate at home had ingredients she was allergic to.

This was my origin moment.

Breaking Bread

You say: Chocolate chip cookies, pies (of all sort), cakes, cupcakes, and other baked treats. I say: Count me in!

Its been years since I walked into that grocery store and looked at it differently then ever before. Now, I go confidently in. My superhero powers have been finely tuned over the years and I can hone in any ingredients I might need. What’s more, when I get home the powers really kick in as I put the ingredients to use. As with any superhero, my powers grow with each challenge.

  1. Birthday party at school. What to make for my daughter who can’t eat the cake? SUPERPOWER = Vegan Cupcakes!
  2. Breakfast of pancakes or waffles. How to make them when eggs and diary are required? SUPERPOWER = Vegan pancakes and vegan waffles!
  3. My family loves fried rice, but how to eat it when eggs are a main ingredient? SUPERPOWER = Vegan fried rice!

There are numerous other instances I could mention, but for the remainder of the post I’ll point to a few places that have super charged my powers. First, there’s Richa Hingle-Garg. Her story is amazing and so too are her food recipes. You can visit her website VeganRicha.com or pick one of her cookbooks. Some of my favorite are on cupcakes, click here to see. Next, there’s Nora Taylor. You can visit her website at NoraCooks.com, and when you do check out her recipe on chocolate chip cookies. Lastly, Alison Andrews and she shares her recipes at LovingItVegan.com. I appreciate that perspective she brings as she has live in various parts of the world. Check out this pancake recipe when you go.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment